Posts filed under ‘Affiliate Tips’

Banners

Banners

Are they worth your advertising dollars or are they a thing of the past?

When the Web first started, banners were all the rage. Today, they’re pretty much passé. They’re no longer a novelty and unless they’re super-clever, users pretty much ignore them. Conversion rates have dropped through the floor and many advertisers have found other ways to push their products.

And yet, every website still contains a whopping great banner Banner ad splashed along the top or running up the side. In part, that’s because they’ve become more sophisticated with better targeting and improved graphics. But in practice, banner ads tend to be used for one of two reasons: as a method of gaining/ giving users through an affiliate Affiliate program; or as a way of generating revenue—or traffic—through paid advertising.

Both these methods work to some extent, but the key is always to make sure the economics make sense. We’ll look closely at the math in this chapter, but before we go on to talk about the math of banner ads—and how to tell whether your banner campaign is worthwhile—let’s just take a look at the terms involved. You’re going to see these words whenever you join an affiliate Affiliate program or take part in any other kind of online Online marketing scheme. You should definitely be familiar with them.

Banner Glossary

· Banner Ad — A graphic ad linked to an advertiser’s website. These usually run across the top of the page but can also run up the page (“skyscrapers”). Banners are usually limited by size.

· Banner Views —The number of times a banner is seen by users. This is usually the same as “page views,” but counts the number of times the banner is actually downloaded rather than the number of times the page is downloaded. Some users click away before the banner finishes loading.

· Clicks/ Click Throughs — Banners are operated by clicking the cursor over them. Not too surprisingly these responses are called “clicks” or “click throughs.”

· Click Through Rate (CTR CTR) — The percentage of users who see the banner and click on it.

· Conversion Rate —The percentage of people who visit your site and actually give you money. The higher the better!

· Cookies — Small files placed on a user’s computer. They’re used for all sorts of reasons and by all sorts of sites. Banner ads use them to make sure the user hasn’t seen the banner recently, which banner brought them to the advertiser’s site, and even which adverts they’ve seen recently.

 

· CPM — “Cost Per Mille.” The amount you pay for every thousand times a banner is shown—the usual way of charging for banners.

· Hits — The number of times a server receives a request for a Web page or an image. Not a great way to measure interest. One page can have lots of images and get lots of hits, even if it’s only seen once. Often, people will say “hits” when they really mean “page views” or “impressions.”

· Page Impressions or Page Views —The number of times a Web page has been requested by the server. Much more accurate than hits: each view is a potential customer looking at a page of your site. But not necessarily a different customer…

· Unique Users — The people who download a Web page, counted by IP address. You want to bring lots of users to your site so that you can create a broad customer base. The same user clicking on a banner a dozen times could cost you money without increasing your sales. Most reputable sites will check the IP address of the person clicking on a link and only count it once in a 24-hour period. If a site doesn’t do this, don’t advertise with them.

 

Banner Economics

Business Business online, like business offline, always boils down to math: the difference between cost and revenue. If your banner campaign is costing more than it’s earning, you won’t be in business for very long. To figure out how your campaign is doing, you’re going to need to know your Cost Per Mille, your Click Through Rate and your Conversion Rate. These are your basic tools. If you don’t know them, find out!

Let’s say your CPM is $20, your CTR is 1%, and your Conversion Rate is 4%. (So you’re paying $20 every 1,000 times your banner is shown, it brings you 10 new users, and you make one sale for every 25 users the ad brings). The question you need to ask yourself is how much are you wasting on the 24 users who don’t buy.

Cost per visitor = $20 / 10 = $2 So each visitor costs you $2, but you need 25 visitors to make one sale, so…

Cost per sale = $2 * 25 = $50 …if your product is worth less than $50, you’re making a loss.

That’s pretty simple, and as you can see, there’s not a lot of room to maneuver here. Margins are tight on banner advertising and that applies to both the site selling the advertising space and the webmaster buying it.

Of course, hard cash isn’t the only way to measure the success of a banner ad, and one reason they’re still popular is that they’re a pretty effective branding tool. After all, advertisers spend millions on billboards without expecting motorists to drive straight through them and make a purchase! On the Web, those advertisers can even be reasonably sure that the people who see their ads will be interested in them. But branding costs money—lots of it—with no guarantee of results. It’s usually best left to the big boys.

The banner ads on my sites usually send users to my affiliate partners, and the banner ads I place on other people’s sites usually come from my affiliate programs. They don’t cost me anything and as long I’m making the sales to pay my affiliate partners, everybody’s happy.

If you do decide to purchase banner advertisements though, and if you have a very specific market in mind, make sure they are strategically placed—on sites where the traffic will most definitely be interested in your product or service. Find a site that suits exactly your specific product and you’re going to be appealing directly to your target market.

Originally by rave from Affiliate Marketing Blog on April 20, 2006, 4:01am

Ads by Yahoo!

June 21, 2006 at 6:15 am 1 comment

How to get a #1 ranking in Google

There are four major ways to get traffic to your site: search engines, links from other sites, feeds (especially blogs) and advertising. Of those four, a lot of effort is spent trying to get a good ranking in the various search engines, especially Google. Why? Because a good ranking is a sure way to get a lot of traffic, and the #1 spot on the search engine results page (SERP) for a given keyphrase is a prime traffic generator indeed. (Well, assuming anyone’s actually searching for that keyphrase…)

Some readers I’ve talked to have expressed surprise in discovering their own page in the #1 position on a Google SERP. “How is this possible?”, they ask, “when there are no links to my page and it has no PageRank?”

There are two fallacies here. One is that the Google “link:” command shows all the links to a given page. It doesn’t, it only shows a partial list of pages that meet some unknown criteria. A better way to find out who links to your page is to search for your page’s URL while excluding your own site. For example, to find out which pages in Google link to http://www.memwg.com/blog/adsense I can do this search:

www.memwg.com/blog/adsense -site:memwg.com

As I write this, the search returns about 252 results. Try it here (opens new window).

The second fallacy is that PageRank is required to rank. But PageRank is just one ranking attribute. The lack of PageRank doesn’t mean you won’t rank. Of course, the higher the PageRank the better — think of it as a tie-breaker for similarly-ranking pages. Also, the PageRank you see reported for a page isn’t necessarily accurate. Remember that the Google Toolbar is just presenting a scaled approximation of the page’s actual PageRank on a convenient 0-10 scale.

So how do you get a #1 spot in Google? Well, the first thing to do is get the page indexed. You can submit the entire site using the link on my handy Search Engine Submission Pages list, but it usually takes a while for anything but the first page to actually make it into the Google index. The easiest way to get a specific page into the Google index is to link to it from a blog that is frequently crawled by Google. This is why the spammers talk about the “blog and ping” approach, because it gets their spam more quickly into the search engines.

Actually, I lied. Getting it in the index is the second thing you want to do. The first is to do basic search engine optimization on the page based on the keyphrase you’re targeting. You know the drill:

  • Keywords in URL somewhere, ideally separated by hyphens
  • Keywords in title, near or at the beginning
  • Keywords in headings
  • Keywords near the top of the page

Really basic stuff. Once the page content is optimized, then link to it from a blog.

Will this work for all keywords? Of course not! You have to choose the right keyphrase. One where there aren’t a lot of pages in the index already, or where the pages that rank near the top don’t highlight the keyphrase as well as you do.

And that’s the hard part: getting a #1 ranking in a competitive area is hard. Because you’ll be competing against sites with high PageRank. Because you’ll be competing against sites that Google views as authoritative. Because you’ll be competing against sites that are older (the age of a resource currently plays an important part in Google rankings — if you have an old domain lying around you might want to consider using it to give your content a boost).

One trick that people use is to “narrow” the desired keyphrase by adding one or two more keywords. This can let you grab a #1 spot for the keyphrase and at the same time may get you to rank highly (but not necessarily in the top 10) for the “wider” keyphrase. For example, I have the #1 spot in Google for electronic fence guide. But I also have the #4 spot for electronic fence by itself. (Long-time readers will note the change — the keywords used to be “invisible fence” instead of “electronic fence”, but the lawyers for Invisible Fence made me rename my site to the Guide to Electronic Fence and Pet Containment.)

Don’t work too hard at grabbing #1 spots, though. Work on your content, keeping the simple SEO principles in mind. Many #1 rankings are accidental. I’ll freely admit that my #1 ranking for blackberry development (for my BlackBerry Development Notes page) is accidental and amusingly outranks Research in Motion’s own pages. I got it, though, because I provided some good information on a specialized topic. You can do the same thing!

Originally from An AdSense Blog: Make Easy Money with Google on April 27, 2006, 11:15am

Ads by Yahoo!

June 21, 2006 at 6:15 am 1 comment

A few avoidable errors when promoting your affiliate program

List of does and do not’s when trying to promote your affiliate Affiliate program.

 

  • Many affiliate Affiliate marketers make a huge mistake of posting their ads on forums. Forums can be used to promote your affiliate programs and your website but in a proper manner. Posting banners is very similar to spamming and may easily upset forum administrators.

 

  • Always do your research before promoting your affiliate program to a potential customer. Do not offer affiliate programs to visitors who are not at all interested in the products associated with the program. This is a futile endeavor.

 

  • If you promote affiliate programs offered by other merchants, ensure that you develop your own advertising copy. Many websites commit a common mistake of using the same advertising copy as used by the merchant Merchant themselves.

 

  • Avoid Copyright infringement in all cases. Always use original content or ask permission to use graphic images or text found on other websites.

 

  • Do not submit your programs to free websites. These may be free but your programs would hardly ever be noticed, especially by Search Engines. Moreover, your own ranking would get lowered if you submit your affiliate programs to such websites.

 

  • Avoid using caps on your web page or email ad. Using caps is symbolic to shouting, which never goes well with potential customers. A few words may be written in capital text to give them additional emphasis. However, such practice should be limited.

 

  • Always respond to all queries sent by visitors as soon as possible. A slight delay in your response could easily result in loss of a potential client.

 

  • Do not use pop-up ads along with your webpage. Most surfers are likely to close their browser if they come across pop-ups.

 

  • Do not host your website on a free server or use free email accounts. This gives a negative impression to visitors. Using free hosts and email accounts looks cheesy and loses sales.

 

  • Many websites do not have an opt-in list. Create an opt-in and opt-out list for your visitors. Without these, there is no way of tracking potential customers. Visitors should be allowed to opt-in at any time as well as opt-out at any time.

 

  • Most sites have a poor tracking mechanism. It is essential that you track all business Business activities. Accurate record keeping is crucial. There are many software tools, discussed earlier in this chapter, than can automate your record keeping process with minimal error.

 

  • A ‘mall’ site is best used as a central hub to send visitors to your other domains. As a main or only site, unfocused mall sites don’t get traffic from the engines, and they don’t convert well to sales. Highly focused theme sites attract traffic and sales.

 

  • Offline advertising may not be effective. A lot of money and effort should not be wasted on offline advertising. Most people rarely check websites that are advertised in local magazines or newspapers.

 

  • Avoid focus on animated banner Banner ads. These simply use up bandwidth, thus making web pages load slower.

 

  • While advertising do not degrade other competitors. It is recommended that you highlight your products’ uniqueness and superiority but never mortify other products.

 

  • Banners or text links that expire are guaranteed to eventually send your visitor to a broken link or show a broken graphic on your page. Time sensitive advertising is best used only in email advertising campaigns.

 

  • Never put affiliate links on your homepage. This is similar to asking your visitors to leave immediately. Give them a chance to browse, sign up for your newsletter and decide that they’d like to come back to your place before introducing them to your affiliates Affiliates.

 

  • Technology changes with amazing speed. To keep up with this rapidly evolving industry, you must invest time and money in research. The investment is a tax write-off, and will pay you back many times over in additional revenue.

 

Hopefully this list has proven helpful to you and has shown you some red flags to avoid when it comes time to promote your own affiliate site. Good luck and take care.

 

Originally by rave from Affiliate Marketing Blog on April 20, 2006, 3:52am

Ads by Yahoo!

June 21, 2006 at 6:14 am Leave a comment

Affiliate Business : Ten Checklists for Your Success

While it can be quite easy to start an online Online business Business, not all people make a success. How then successful Successful business man/woman could make it? Every successful business has its own story, however, there are some common factors that make a business hard to fell down.

Here is ten checklist that help you to be successful

1. Set a goal

Without a goal, a success is driven just by chance and it’s very low. Your ultimate goal is generating substantial income from your site. But how much? If you’re an affiliate Affiliate business starter, don’t set too much: otherwise you’ll be depressed. For each site I built and going to build, my firs goal is to earn about $500 a month. For some people, this may sound too small or may not. But in reality to reach $500 within 2 month is a success.
Build more than one content site. This is what most of affiliates Affiliates do. Let’s say you build 10 niche web sites. This will make you $5,000 a month.

2. Make a plan

A plan makes your work be organized. Building an affiliate Affiliate site within two month is a descent plan. Within the first month, do a research to find profitable keywords, affiliate programs, and some resources to which you can refer when you write content pages. And within the second month write one article every day. At the end of second month you will have keyword rich contents armored with affiliate program. And publish it by obtaining domain name and web hosting company.

3. Set a budget

While you can start an affiliate business even without investing any penny, it is recommended to make a descent investment. We all know that something for nothing mentality eventually doesn’t work.
Inevitable investment is for the domain name and web hosting.
If you are a starter, purchase Ken Evoy’s “Site Build It!” package. It includes everything you need so that it will shorten your learning time and help you earn income through online. The more details can you find at http://www.mikino.com
It costs you $299 per year. If you have a choice other than the “Site Build It!”, it is ok but consider that you still need invest at least $300 for registering domain name, contract with hosting company, etc.. If you want to earn money, you have got to use your money first.

4. Check your lifeblood

What is lifeblood for affiliate, by the way? Many affiliates agree on the following things.

  • profitable keyword,
  • good affiliate programs and
  • informative contents

Your web page should be focused on keywords, which bring you traffic. And then you want convert it to the affiliate program link or to sale your own products. What the good informative contents is doing is to keep the traffic flowing to your site (even to increase it) and to make the conversion rate high.
Side note: If you are not familiar with the words, profitable keyword and contents, and don’t know how to choose a good affiliate program, please download Affiliate Masters Course” (Free Ebook) and read it through.

5. Prepare what to say befor you write content page

If you don’t know what you’re going to tell, how about your reader?You know the content should be informative because people look for information. But what kind of information are you providing? Eventually, all the information boils down to ask an action, to buy your product or to go to your merchant Merchant site, right?So, organize your information to conclude the action. Here again the keyword and affiliate program comes into significant role.Determine what keyword you’re going to use and what affiliate program you’re going to suggest and then start writing.

6. Don’t forget PREselling

One of most frequent mistakes is to write a content to sell something. This is so to speak ‘Buy me!’ slogan. But what you have to do is to use ‘Love me!’ slogan. People tend to skeptical when they see ‘Buy me!’ slogan. Give them the information what they were looking for, and guide them by providing suggestions and recommendations to the affiliated product. This so called PREselling strategy and it will make your visitors love your site, maybe you as well. : )

7. Build targeted traffic

After 2 months hard working, finally you published an affiliate site. Do the people know about your site? Afraid not!Though you made a step to the online world, you actually are in isolated island. Let your potential visitors come to your site by promoting your site.
You can promote your site either paying money or without paying any dime. I prefer and suggest not to pay any penny for this matter except buying an ebook to learn how to increase targeted traffic.The foremetioned free ebook “Affiliate Masters Course” can be a good starting point for you.

8. Make yourself determined

Let’s say, for 2 months you had built an affiliate site and submitted to the open directory and major search engines. You hoped a substantial traffic. But sadly, just tens of visitors a day. What are you going to do? Announce a failure and depress yourself? You know successful people won’t do that.
Most of affiliates say it takes at least 4 months to build a substantial targeted traffic. So be patient. And instead being frustrated, check your site whether something can be improved.

9. Time management

As an affiliate, you’re a web master, content writer, copywriter, and top manager. Moreover, you’ll own several sites. Thus you’re a web master of several sites, etc.. Sounds good? There is a problem, though.
How can you manage your time?
It would be nice for you to set aside tedious job and to focus on managing your sites. One way to do that is hiring your assistant. The other way is to purchase Ken Evoy’s Site Build It!. It helps you spend your precious time efficiently.

10. Stay yourself up to date

The most important aspect of online marketing is that it is ever changing. Search engine listing policy is changing, new affiliate program is emerging, etc….
To make yourself up to date:

  • Subscribe to some of newsletter to obtain news, tips, strategy and ideas.
  • Read search engine optimization news. I recommend Search Engine Watch site.
  • Participate affiliate forum. Read thread, ask questions and publish your opinion.This helps you not only be up to date but be listed in search engine.
  • Buy some e-books and read them whenever you have time.

Originally by rave from Affiliate Marketing Blog on April 18, 2006, 6:00am

Ads by Yahoo!

June 21, 2006 at 6:14 am Leave a comment

Commission Junction, the Perfect Affiliate Resource for Niche Markets

There are many affiliate Affiliate programs you can go to to find real solid product to market online Online. Most marketers who produce their own product provide these programs that are easily accessible, and can be worked simply by signing up to them. However, there are places you can go, sign up, and have virtually any product in the world at your disposal.

I’m talking about places like Commission Junction, a huge listing of companies who sell online and offer Affiliate Affiliate programs. All the big name brands are there, so there’s no limit to what you can market.

Most of you Internet Marketers are used to thinking in terms of digital products and the first name you probably think of is ClickBank. Well, we know that ClickBank deals only with downloadable products. Commission Junction, on the other hand has affiliate programs mostly for physical products.

If you are into setting up niche markets, you have learned that the online world is not just made up of downloadable ebooks. Most niche markets require affiliate products of physical goods that are shipped by the seller for you. It is in this area that Commission Junction excels.

The advantages of becoming a member of Commission Junction is that you just have to sign up once and that gets you access to every affiliate program they sponsor. This is great for people who niche market through mini-sites because with a few clicks of your mouse, you can quickly plug in product or update product information for all of your niche markets in one session.

If there was a downside to mention it would be that, unlike places like ClickBank, the commissions are somewhat lower. While ClickBank usually carries a 35% to 60% commission on product sold, Commission Junction tends to be in the 7% to 20% bracket.

So if you’re hoping to strike it rich marketing one product, then products offered by Commission Junction may not be for you. However, if you’re a serious Niche marketer, then you know that you many products to earn a respectable income. One or two products just won’t cut it..

In fact, having a membership with Commission Junction, in spite of the relatively lower earning potential per product, is a better deal Deal when you’re working niches, because the key to good niche marketing is in finding product that is high in demand yet low in supply. With the number of companies marketing through Commission Junction along with the thousands of product to choose from, one could create mini-site niche markets all day long and still find new and rare product to market.

Thus having ten mini-sites of strong high demand every day products getting 10% commission has a higher long range residual profitability margin than having one site with a 50% commission for each product sold.

Another advantage to having all of your affiliate programs in one place is that your earnings are combined. What this means is that, no matter how many companies you’re affiliated with on Commission Junction, each company submits your daily earnings to Commission Junction who, in turn, cuts your check and sends it off to you.

This means less work keeping track of your income, less waiting for accumulated commission checks totaling the usual $100 minimum, and less paperwork come tax time.

Now this may not seem like a big deal to someone who’s happy selling one or two products, but if you consider that some niche marketers have well over 100 niche sites, keeping track of everything on a per product basis could get quite overwhelming.

So using a company like Commission Junction has its definite advantages for the niche marketer. Through them you can sell anything from soup to nuts, monitor all of your niche products in one place, and never worry about keeping track of the earnings each niche brings you.

Commission Junction takes care of all that for you. You can find out how much you’ve earned over all, what earnings you’ve received from individual affiliate programs, and be assured that your check will reach you in a timely manner.

They also supervise and take care of problems with their sponsored companies, so you never have to worry about a program you belong to going “belly up” while you’re aggressively promoting their product.

Yes there are plenty of reasons to join Commission Junction if you’re serious about niche marketing. Just take a look at all the companies they sponsor and ponder over all the worry free possible niches you could create through them.

Originally by rave from Affiliate Marketing Blog on March 23, 2006, 6:00am

Ads by Yahoo!

June 21, 2006 at 6:14 am 1 comment


Calendar

July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category